Jonestown Community Library
The Jonestown Community Library creates programs and services to educate, enrich and encourage our thriving community. It is the mission of the library to enhance the quality of life of all members of the community by providing services and programs that will create opportunities for lifelong learning, encourage a love of reading, and contribute to the educational development and cultural vitality of Jonestown.
Friends of the Library
Want to know how you can support the Library? Join the Friends of the Library (a 501c3 organization). The Friends of the Library meet the 3rd Tuesday of every month at 7:00 p.m. at the library. Email: email@example.com for more information.
Do you have a library fine? Or would you like to make a donation to the Jonestown Library? You will need to know the amount owed and your library card number. There will be a $3 minimum credit card processing fee. Click Here to Pay Online.
- Location: 18649 FM 1431, Ste 10A, Jonestown, TX, 78645
- Mailing Address:
- Phone: 512-267-7511
- Fax: 512-267-2013
- Email: Library@jonestown.org
- Hours: WE ARE CLOSED 1200PM-1PM MON-FRI, CLOSED ON ALL CITY HOLIDAYS
- Monday: 9am - 6pm
- Tuesday: 9am - 8pm
- Wednesday: 9am - 6pm
- Thursday: 9am - 8pm
- Friday: 9am - 6pm
- Saturday: 9am - 1pm
- Sunday: CLOSED
Visit our Facebook Page:
Galen Hodges - Library Director
- Phone: 512-267-7511
- Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
Sam Marsh - Library Assistant
- Phone: 512-267-7511
- Email: email@example.com
Resident Library Card
- A library card may be obtained by presenting a completed application form at the circulation desk. There is no charge for a library card if you live within the city limits of Jonestown. A valid Texas drivers license with current address, or a state issued ID along with with proof of current address (a bill, checks, lease agreement, etc.). Library cards are good for one year. To renew your library card, proof of current address must be provided in person at the library.
- Replacement cards cost $2.00 per card.
- The cardholder is responsible for all materials checked out on his/her card and for all charges incurred by the use of the card. To minimize liability, lost or stolen cards should be reported immediately to the library.
Adult library cardholders, who have had their card for at least 90 days,are in good standing, and are actively using this library, are also eligible to apply for a TexShare card to borrow materials at other participating libraries.
- A parent or legal guardian may obtain a library card for children aged 5 to 17 years old by completing an application form in person. A valid Texas Driver’s License with current address is required. The parent or legal guardian is responsible for all materials checked out on their child’s card and for all charges incurred by the use of their child’s card.
Nonresident Library Cards
- Nonresident cards, for those living outside of the city limits, may be obtained by adults for an annual fee of $15. In addition to the application, a valid Texas drivers license with current address, or a valid state issued ID along with with proof of current address (a bill, check book, lease agreement, etc..) is required. Applying for a new card or renewing an expired existing card, proof of current address must be provided.
- TexShare card holders from other libraries in the area are eligible for a free Jonestown Community Library card. The card will expire on the expiration date on the TexShare card. All other rules apply.
- DVDs : 3 Days
- CDs and Books : 2 Weeks
Reserves, Requests, and Holds
- Any circulating item may be requested and held for a patron. Requests may be placed in person or by telephone. Items on reserve will be held for 2 business days before being returned to circulation
- Books and Books on CD may be renewed twice. Dvds can only be renewed once. Items that have been placed on hold (reserves) are not renewable. Patrons owing more than $2.00 may not renew.
- Renewals can be done in person, over the phone, or at any time online.
- $0.25 for Books and Books on CD; max fine of $5.00
- $1.00 for DVDs; max fine of $5.00
- Staff will send overdue notices daily as a courtesy, but the primary responsibility for the return of borrowed materials lies solely with the patron.
Lost or Damaged Materials
- Charges for lost or damaged items include the cost of the item plus a $10.00 replacement fee per item. Damage fees are assessed by the Library director.
- All Library materials may be returned inside the Library during library hours. When returning items when the library is closed, we have two convenient drops. Books can be returned in the outside drop box, and DVDs and audio books can be returned into the slot located to the right of the library entrance.
In order to protect all library users’ right of access to library facilities, to insure the safety of patrons and staff, and to protect library resources and facilities from damage, reasonable restrictions and appropriate safeguards to library access are outlined below.
We ask for your cooperation in maintaining an atmosphere that is conducive to study and to pleasant use of the library. Persons using the library for purposes other than those for which the library was established may be asked to leave.
The following activities, conduct, and conditions are prohibited for the protection and comfort of library visitors and staff:
- Eating, smoking, or possession/consumption of a controlled or restricted drug or substance, or being under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- Carrying a weapon into the library, unless authorized by law.
- Bringing in animals, except those needed to assist a patron with a disability or animals used in a library program.
- Misusing the restrooms (i.e. using them as a laundry or bathing facility).
- Mutilating and/or stealing library materials or other library property.
- Talking in a loud or abusive voice, or engaging in other disruptive conduct.
- Interfering with another person’s use of the library or with the library personnel’s performance of their duties.
- Entering non-public areas of the library without proper authorization.
- Improper attire (shirt and shoes are required).
- All other offenses which are subject to prosecution under criminal or civil code of law.
- Library Staff cannot assume responsibility for children left unattended in the library. For safety reasons and the child’s protection, children under age 10 will not be left unattended in the library at any time. If any minor is still on library premises when the library closes for the day, an attempt will be made to contact a parent or guardian. If a parent or guardian has not been located within twenty minutes, the Jonestown Police Department will be contacted. A police officer will take the unattended child to the police station.
Federal Income Tax Information
The IRS is no longer supplying libraries with the full range of printed tax products, only forms and booklets for the 1040s. Most tax products can be printed at the library for $.20 per page in black and white. Federal Information:
- You can print off IRS forms, instructions, or publications on their website. The 1040 form is here, and the instructions are here.
- To request IRS forms by mail, call 1-800-829-3676 or order online.
- Business taxpayers can phone the number above number to order forms or request they be mailed. Select few are available online (not most of the 1090 series and W series), but not all are printable. Some business forms may be available for purchase at office supply stores. None have been delivered to the library.
- AARP Tax Preparation Assistance
- AARP Foundation Tax-Aide will not be preparing taxes at the library this year.